Scientific Advisory Board


Rudy Tanzi, PhD

Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board

Dr. Tanzi is the Joseph P. and Rose F. Kennedy Professor of Child Neurology and Mental Retardation and Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Tanzi’s main focus is on identifying and characterizing Alzheimer’s disease associated gene mutations and variants with the ultimate goal of defining the molecular, cellular, and biochemical events leading to neuronal death in the brains of Alzheimer’s disease patients. Dr. Tanzi’s lab has been involved in the discovery of three of the four genes implicated in playing a role in familial Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Tanzi has focused his research on determining the pathogenic mechanisms by which defects in these genes contribute to the neurodegenerative process in the brains of patients with Alzheimer’s disease. With the use of cell and animal models, Dr. Tanzi is gaining an in-depth understanding of the normal function of the Alzheimer’s disease genes and how mutations and variants of these genes can lead to amyloid deposition, neuronal death, and dementia. This research has a direct impact of the development of an effective treatment for Alzheimer’s disease and Dr. Tanzi’s work is key to the pathways that AZTherapies is pursuing.

See more at:


Keith A. Johnson, MD

Professor of Radiology and Neurology, Harvard Medical School

Professor of Radiology and Neurology, Harvard Medical School

Dr. Johnson is an Associate Radiologist and the Director of Molecular Neuroimaging in the Division of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (Department of Radiology) at the Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Johnson also serves as an associate physician and staff neurologist in the Memory Disorders Unit at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital as well as a Clinical Associate in Neurology at MGH. Dr. Johnson is co-director of the Neuroimaging Program of the Massachusetts Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center and its Dominantly Inherited Alzheimer Network (DIAN) research initiatives. He oversees the Clinical Brain Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Service at MGH and practices as a neurologist specializing in neurodegenerative disorders.

See more at:


Sangram S. Sisodia, PhD

Professor Neurosciences University of Chicago

Dr. Sisodia is the Thomas A. Reynolds Sr. Family Professor of Neurosciences, University of Chicago, and the Director of the Center for Molecular Neurobiology. Dr. Sisodia is a leading expert on the molecular and cellular biology of Alzheimer’s disease. He has been at the forefront of learning how the familial Alzheimer’s disease genes, including the amyloid precursor protein and the presenilins, function normally, and contribute to Alzheimer’s disease pathogenesis.

See more at:


Steven L. Wagner, PhD

Professor at UCSD Medical School

Dr. Wagner’s research focuses on the discovery, design and preclinical development of therapeutic small molecules known as gamma-secretase modulators. These drug-like small molecules are aimed at preventing and/or delaying the buildup of specific neuropathological lesions known as neuritic plaques that are invariably abundant in the brains of both patients with Down syndrome and Alzheimer’s disease. Dr. Wagner served as Director of Biochemistry at the Salk Institute Biotechnology/Industrial Associates, Inc., followed by a position as Chief Scientific Officer at Neurogenetics, Inc./Torrey Pines Therapeutics, Inc. In 2009 he joined UC San Diego’s Department of Neurosciences, where he currently is an associate professor and principal investigator.

See more at:


Shahin Tabatabaei, MD

Associate Professor Harvard Medical School

Dr. Tabatabaei is a urologist at the Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Urology. He specializes in the treatment of cancer, benign prostate hypertrophy (BPH), and related research.

See more at:


Seth Paul Finklestein, MD

Associate Professor at Harvard Medical School and Neurologist at Massachusetts General Hospital

Dr. Finklestein is currently a neurologist at Massachusetts General Hospital, an associate professor at Harvard Medical School, and the Chief Executive Officer at Stemetix, Inc. Additionally, he is the former Head of the CNS Growth Factor Research Laboratory at MGH and the former VP and Head of the Neuroscience Division at Viacell, Inc. He is the author of over 120 research publications and reviews.  Dr. Finklestein is a graduate of Haverford College and Harvard Medical School.

See more at:


Martin R. Farlow, MD

Professor and Vice Chairman of Research, Department of Neurology Indiana University

Dr. Farlow is Professor of Neurology and Vice-Chairman of Research in the Department of Neurology at the Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis. He is also Associate Co-Director of the Indiana Alzheimer’s Disease Center in Indianapolis and leads a large Alzheimer and related dementias clinical trials site in the Department of Neurology and has lead and/or contributed in various ways to over 150 clinical trials over the last 25 years. Dr. Farlow received his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine and completed an internship in medicine and residency in neurology at the Indiana University Hospitals. Dr. Farlow is a member of many professional associations including the American Academy of Neurology, the American Neurological Association, and the American Geriatrics Society.

See more at:


Scott E. Kasner, MD, MSCE

Chief, Division of Vascular Neurology, Department of Neurology, University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Scott E. Kasner received his M.D. from Yale University and a Master’s of Science in Clinical Epidemiology from the University of Pennsylvania. He joined the faculty at the University of Pennsylvania in 1997 and is currently the Ruth M. & Tristram C. Colket Jr. President’s Distinguished Professor of Neurology, Chief of the Division of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease, Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, and Director of the Comprehensive Stroke Center. He is a Fellow of the American Heart Association and was a longstanding member of its Stroke Council Leadership Committee. Dr. Kasner has had leadership roles in many trials of novel interventions for acute stroke treatment, prevention, and recovery. He has authored over 200 publications, and he edited 2 textbooks focused on evidence-based stroke care. Dr. Kasner has been extolled as a teacher and mentor, with several teaching awards spanning his career.

See more at:


Bradley T. Hyman, MD, PhD

John B. Penney Professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School Alzheimer's Unit Director, MassGeneral Institute for Neurodegenerative Disease
Director, Massachusetts Alzheimer's Disease Research Center

Dr. Hyman is currently John B. Penny Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and Director of the Massachusetts Alzheimer Disease Research Center and Memory Disorder Unit at Massachusetts General Hospital. He was educated at Northwestern University (BA Chemistry, 1977) and the University of Iowa (PhD; MD). He was awarded the Potamkin Prize in 2006, together with Karen Duff and Karen Ashe.

Dr. Hyman studies the anatomical and molecular basis of dementia in Alzheimer’s disease, and Dementia with Lewy Bodies. His research includes a collaborative of several labs working on different aspects of neurodegenerative disease and dementia. He also has a clinical practice in the Memory and Disorder Unit at the Massachusetts General Hospital devoted towards the care of patients with dementia.

See more at: